SIBO treatment update!

It’s been almost one month to the day I began my herbal antimicrobial treatment to battle the bitch that is SIBO, and honestly, it’s been far from smooth sailing.

I’ve had ups and downs (mainly downs) as i’ve continued to consume blended herbal capsules recommended by my nutritionalist 3x a day, whilst sticking to a fairly strict low-fodmap diet.

Having not consumed any sort of sugar other than in the form of a kiwi since New Year’s Day (when did I become so wild!?) i’ve been surprised by the lack of cravings i’ve been experiencing, as many sufferers complain at caving in to the cravings in the early days.

This is probably down to the fact that i’ve been so bloated or in pain most days that i’ve not even wanted to eat, having to force myself to consume meals every 4-5 hours so my weight doesn’t diminish even further. This could also be because i’ve known sugar has been my enemy for the last two years since experiencing digestive problems, so i’ve been used to cutting out sugar for a while now.

The discomfort from excessive bloating has been one thing, but what i’ve found really difficult is the fatigue and despair that’s presented itself with SIBO. I’ve never been a crier – ask anyone – but some nights i’ve been so absorbed in this hopeless depression that i’ve just erupted in tears, wondering what i’ve done to deserve feeling so fatigued, de-energised, sluggish and negative, not to mention alone. I’ve also had too much time to think, to mourn my past life and think about all the nights out, holidays and experiences and memories I may be missing out on if this is to be my life for good.

What’s also shocking is how disabled my digestion has suddenly seemed to have become, after only being able to go to the loo once a week, even when resorting to desperate measures by day 4 (laxatives, caffeine, etc, you name it). Because of this i’ve now added in 3 capsules of vitamins C a day and 2 Magnesium Citrate tablets. This constipation alongside the appearance of acne and permanent dark circles under my eyes has definitely made things harder, making my physical appearance another deterrant from wanting to do much or go anywhere.

So going off how i’ve been feeling/looking, it’s no surprise that my weekends haven’t been jam-packed with sociable activities and joyous outings. In fact, i’ve never had such a free schedule in all my life, but i’ve literally had 0 energy some days. This is another harsh reality of SIBO, it impacts on your social life dramatically, as well as your mental and physical health. Especially because I used to love a big drinking binge every weekend, so i’m scared that in time my friends will fail to see the fun in me anymore, because who wants to hang out with a sober-sally who has to be informed of a menu in advance everytime? Sadly spontaneity is not a luxury I can afford anymore.

Joining Facebook groups on how to best treat, cure and manage SIBO has been helpful, although it does fill you with negativity as most sufferers have been battling it for years and have found no ‘cure’ as of yet. It’s good to gain ideas and tips off people though, but it’s hard to know whether to invest in some more supplements that seem to have worked wonders for some, or just stick to the advice of my nutritionalist who seems to have prescribed me the bare minimum in comparison.

Luckily I have an appointment with my NHS Gastro on March 1st, so looking forward to seeing what he has to say about this diagnosis and the best course of action. I’m not convinced I want to try the antibiotic approach-or whether Rifaximin and Neomycin are even prescribed in the UK-but i’m interested in hearing what they have to say either way. Given the advice and attitude of some NHS gastros i’ve seen in the past though, i’m just hoping I’ll leave feeling listened to or understood, and not like I want to physically punch them due to their useless advice or ignorant attitude.

Either way i’ve heard it can take months for these antimicrobials to work, so i’ve just ordered another batch and willing to keep at ’em. Although i’ve been feeling mainly horrendous the last month, I have actually noticed that this past week has been slightly better, where i’ve not felt as apocalyptic or absolutely shattered at the end of the working day. Perhaps it can only get better from here?

As always, any SIBO-related tips, advice and experience are always welcome! Updates to follow…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment